Small Ideas - AIN'T NO COMBAT THREAD

Comments

• MoireanMoirean Chairmander Portland
    That's how Lusternia does it.
  • Oh really? When you were talking about mechanically given out rewards I thought you meant "You wrote words on pieces of paper bond together. Have a treat."

Politics
  • Okay, I've never played Lusternia. But as a writer, I do like the idea of some mechanical reward for going above and beyond - because honestly, writing books in Aetolia IS going above and beyond, for most people. For most people, writing a description that amounts to more than "He's a five-foot Grook and has spent the last two weekends boning your mother in Boca" is a pretty heavy requirement.

Then again, for a lot of us, writing books is part of what our characters would DO. I've played characters who wrote scientific treatises because it was part of their work - it wasn't required by anyone. I've known people who wrote religious texts that are still used by organizations as teaching tools. We do this because we love the game, and because we are so invested in the person we're playing that to NOT convey their thoughts in this way would feel like bad RP. We'd do it anyway - as many people in this thread have said. But it's always nice to have a reward for something that enhances the world - not because it's required, but because making the extra effort DOES make other people's lives better, DOES fill out the backstory that every newbie is born into here. If you try hard enough, it means something, and that's not nothin'.