Aetolia's 14th Anniversary

HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin

ANNOUNCE NEWS #2454
Date: 10/2/2015 at 4:24
From: Razmael, the Synthesist
To : Everyone
Subj: 14th Anniversary!

October is Aetolia's 14th Anniversary and we've packed in some events and prizes
to celebrate!

I've tried my best to convert the times from GMT to a few other timezones (USA
East/EDT, London/BST, and Australia East/AEDT) but fair warning I may have
goofed! For the most accurate timing, refer to the GMT time or check the EVENTS
countdown.

Artisanal/Bardics
-----------------
Rather than run the Artisanals and Bardics on a schedule, we've decided to
switch to doing them for special occassions with a theme - and our 14th
Anniversary will be the first of these! You have until the the month ends to
submit your entries through our website. Read HELP ARTISANALS and HLEP BARDICS
for more information.

The theme is: Horror.

PvP Starfall
------------
Pretty straight-forward, a Starfall event with PvP and No Sharing turned on.
Being killed gives half your meteors to the person who killed you. Read HELP
STARFALL for more details.

Schedule
GMT: October 10th, 00:01
AEDT: October 10th, 11:01
EDT: October 9th, 20:01
BST: October 10th, 13:01

Prizes
1st: 200cr
2nd: 100cr
3rd: 50cr
Participation: 1 giftbag after collecting 10 meteors.


The Iron Epicurean
------------------
The culinary showdown returns! Cook the best meal you can make with the
ingredients given and try to impress the judges - including a special guest
judge! Read HELP EPICUREAN for more information on how the event works.

Schedule
GMT: October 10th, 22:00
AEDT: October 11th, 09:00
EDT: October 10th, 18:00
BST: October 11th, 23:00

Prizes
1st: 200cr and the Hat of the Iron Epicurean.
2nd: 100cr
3rd: 50cr
Participation: 1 giftbag for submitting a finished dish.


City v City FFA (3v3v3v3)
-------------------------
Each city will put forth 3 champions to represent them in this Free-For-All
showdown! Teaming is allowed! Winning city will get the Epicurus statue until we
next run an event for it, and the winning champions will nab 100 credits for
themselves. Losers take nothing, sorry!

Schedule
GMT: October 16th, 22:30
AEDT: October 17th, 09:30
EDT: October 16th, 18:30
BST: October 16th, 23:30


The 'Royale' Fishing Derby
--------------------------
A fishing competition like no other! There will be multiple rounds during this
event with different criteria such as catching the most fish, or being the first
to catch a certain fish type. Don't have fishing? No worries! During the event,
everybody will have temporary access to Transcendent fishing to level the
playing field. More details (including prizes) to be posted later.

Schedule
GMT: October 17th, 21:00
AEDT: October 18th, 08:00
EDT: October 17th, 17:00
BST: October 17th, 22:00


The Great Hunt
--------------
Get ready for some non-stop bashing! The Great Hunt will take up an entire
weekend this month, lasting 48 hours. It'll be broken down into two tiers:
levels 99+, and levels 1-98. Each tier has its own rankings and prizes. Read
HELP GREAT HUNT for more information.

Schedule
GMT: October 24th, 00:01
AEDT: October 24th, 11:00
EDT: October 23rd, 20:00
BST: October 24th, 01:00

Prizes
1st: 400cr
2nd: 350cr
3rd: 300cr
4th: 250cr
5th: 200cr
6th: 150cr
7th: 100cr
8th: 100cr
9th: 50cr
10th: 50cr

Note: The level 1-98 tier will receive credits as bound, and the level 99+
credits will be unbound.


Quiz
----
A Quiz on Aetolia's history, lore and general knowledge! Refer to HELP QUIZ.

Schedule
GMT: October 30th, 22:00
AEDT: October 31st, 09:00
EDT: October 30th, 18:00
BST: October 30th, 22:00

Prizes
1st: 200cr
2nd: 100cr
3rd: 50cr
Participation: Score at least 1 point to get a giftbag.


Spooky Survivor
---------------
A Halloween-themed survivor event! Read HELP SURVIVOR for more information.

Schedule
GMT: October 31st, 18:00
AEDT: November 1st, 05:00
EDT: October 31st, 14:00
BST: October 31st, 18:00

Prizes
1st: 200cr
2nd: 100cr
3rd: 50cr
Participation: 1 giftbag when you die.

Penned by my hand on Gosday, the 9th of Arios, in the year 454 MA.

AdaliArekaIsandeAryanneDristinIselleIshin

Comments

  • MelanthaMelantha Member Posts: 112 ✭✭✭
    I'm extremely excited for this month's events. I just really hope that my work schedule allows me to participate. Quick question: Except as noted under the Great Hunt entry, credit prizes are unbound, correct?
    Avatar courtesy of Nola. Thank you!
    ~~

    image

    photo SlowPostersClub2-1.jpg

    ~~
    Always interested in knowing how I'm doing!
    Veovis
  • ReuxReux Member Posts: 251 ✭✭✭
    Course the Great Hunt happens when I'm working out of state -.-
    I mean, you know, an amount.


  • TarasTaras Member Posts: 20 ✭✭✭
    You guys are flipping great! Thanks for arranging all this!
  • AdaliAdali Member Posts: 32 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2015
    Edit: I Think I may have misunderstood the news post, but got how it worked when looking at EVENTS. NVM! <3
  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    I had to coach Razmael to stop calling the fishing derby the fishing 'derpy'. I secretly hope he calls it that in-game.

    IshinXenia
  • ZsadistZsadist Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭✭
    Will the Great Hunt be another double xp weekend or will it be normal xp?
    (Oasis): Benedicto says, "There was like 0.5 seconds between "Oh hey, they're in area. That was quick." and "OMFG THEY'RE IN THE AREA STAHP STAHP!""


  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    Zsadist said:
    Will the Great Hunt be another double xp weekend or will it be normal xp?
    As of now, there is no bonus XP. I'll talk to Razmael and see if he wants to adjust it.

    Zsadist
  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    edited October 2015
    Hadrak said:

    As of now, there is no bonus XP. I'll talk to Razmael and see if he wants to adjust it.

    @Zsadist: I spoke with Razmael and we will be enabling double XP during the Great Hunt.
    Melantha said:

    Quick question: Except as noted under the Great Hunt entry, credit prizes are unbound, correct?

    @Melantha: Yes, they are unbound credits.


    Iselle
  • MarienaMariena By a lake. Member, Guildmaster Posts: 588 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am excited for this!


    Zsadist
  • ZsadistZsadist Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭✭
    Can we get the noon sun disabled during the time of the Great Hunt? As this would give the Spirit side a significant advantage over those who are vampires (yay instadeath)
    (Oasis): Benedicto says, "There was like 0.5 seconds between "Oh hey, they're in area. That was quick." and "OMFG THEY'RE IN THE AREA STAHP STAHP!""


  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    Zsadist said:

    Can we get the noon sun disabled during the time of the Great Hunt? As this would give the Spirit side a significant advantage over those who are vampires (yay instadeath)

    Already planned.


    Anfini
  • ArekaAreka Drifting in a sea of wenches' bosomsMember, Guildmaster Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Does that mean that midnight will also be disabled with the 21 stats?
    image
  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    Areka said:

    Does that mean that midnight will also be disabled with the 21 stats?

    Yes.

  • ZsadistZsadist Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭✭
    Will the Vortex be given point values even though its open pk? Or will open PK areas be removed from the point value system?

    Likewise, will general open PK of anyone be allowed during the Great Hunt or will it be general PVE only? I can mocked for this question later as it seems a fair question in my mind.
    (Oasis): Benedicto says, "There was like 0.5 seconds between "Oh hey, they're in area. That was quick." and "OMFG THEY'RE IN THE AREA STAHP STAHP!""


  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    Zsadist said:

    Will the Vortex be given point values even though its open pk? Or will open PK areas be removed from the point value system?

    Likewise, will general open PK of anyone be allowed during the Great Hunt or will it be general PVE only? I can mocked for this question later as it seems a fair question in my mind.

    The Vortex will have point values. No, the Great Hunt will not be open PK outside of normal PvP areas such as the Vortex and Fracture. Normal PK rules will apply there.

  • ZsadistZsadist Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2015
    Is the sun still going to be disabled during the Great Hunt, because we're still getting ridiculously torched at midday sun and we're having to spend 3 seconds to block out the sun?
    (Oasis): Benedicto says, "There was like 0.5 seconds between "Oh hey, they're in area. That was quick." and "OMFG THEY'RE IN THE AREA STAHP STAHP!""


    Sarita
  • SaritaSarita The Pillars of the EarthMember, Guildmaster Posts: 675 ✭✭✭✭
    On a similar note, are there going to be the 5, 10, and 15 credit rewards for hitting certain thresholds (I think 100, 1000, 2500?) I know credits got messed up early on, but then I hit 100 points and nothing happened.

    As a second question, I know that for me personally, bashing in areas with palls has basically been impossible once spirits start following me, and from what I've heard, only people in Dhar's congregation can close those. Am I mistaken about that, or is it possible to disable that too, since I'm sure some of them want to participate (and that some people who want to participate will have a harder than normal time if their usual areas are full of nasty spirits.)
  • AdaliAdali Member Posts: 32 ✭✭✭
    anyone can Close the palls, from what I know. You just need to kill all spirits from that particular pall.
  • AarbrokAarbrok Breaking things...For Science Portland, OregonMember Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yeah I was a bit bummed when the participation thresholds were not active in this one, I had assumed they were for some reason but I can't read anywhere that they were ever a thing, so...oh well.

  • SaritaSarita The Pillars of the EarthMember, Guildmaster Posts: 675 ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2015
    Double experience wasn't announced either, but it was enabled for this one, so I guess I kind of assumed/hoped that other perk would be too.

    EDIT: Just to clarify, I probably wouldn't have even thought of the credit thing except for the fact that there was the bug with credits at the beginning. It made it seem like it was intended to be active, but didn't work properly, and then that the fix somehow disabled the intended effect.
    Post edited by Sarita on
  • HadrakHadrak DorohedoroMember, Administrator, Immortal Posts: 874 admin
    Adali said:

    anyone can Close the palls, from what I know. You just need to kill all spirits from that particular pall.

    Yes, anyone can close the palls.

Sign In or Register to comment.