New player looking for info and advice.

Hi I'm new to aetolia, I've dabbled with some of its sister muds a little bit.

I'm just trialing out the games at the moment as I really want to pick one before I start to invest a huge amount of time into it. I really like the concept of Aetolia from what I have read about it. I love the concept of roleplaying in a dark and conflicted world. I really enjoy the potential of combat as well in small or large scale.

I've been playing a bit of Aetolia today but it seemed exceptionally quiet? Did I just pick a bit of a bad time? I had figured that the weekend would be the busiest? This kind of worried me a bit as I dont want to be in a world that dosn't have a decent sized active community.

I did bump into a few folks who were quite interesting to roleplay with which was fun but the guild and the city was so quiet.

I've heard that some guild are fairly dead as well, are there any guilds that you would avoid/recommend for a new person who wants a lot of activity?

As a few questions about combat as well, how it is in general? Hows the general class balance? Is there active world combat, player created or via events?

I'm obviously too new to have done or seen any fights but the First aid system in the game seems pretty comprehensive, does it have any big weaknesses? I mean is it worth using or is it just simply better to turn it off and go about building a system of mudlet? And if the system option is the best way to go then are there any good bases out there or does anyone sell a half decent one for starters?

Thanks for your time in any response to my questions guys :D

Comments

• Okay, the answers to some of your questions as I see them. Remember, your mileage may vary!

- Some guilds are quiet, yes. Some have been quiet for a very long time, and some are quiet at certain times of the day if players are from certain timezones. And some are just quiet lately.