Why did you start playing? Why did you stay?

2»

Comments

• AlistaireAlistaire Las Vegas, Nevada
    I started playing because I wanted a break from Imperian. I stayed for a little while, ended up going back there. Came back and stayed because Mariena. Then later, the Atabots.

I stay because Imperian sucks, I guess?
  • MoireanMoirean Chairmander Portland
    edited July 2013
    My dad worked for DARPA in the nascent days of the internet (heyo, Gopher) and we had a dial-up link to the NRAD base so he could work from home. Which of course we used to get shareware games and explore what passed for the internet over 20 years ago. One of those free games we got was this single player text game ("You awake on a hill with a white house...") and I spent ages exploring that game and eventually, somehow I found Avalon through our dial-up connection and traipsed around on there for a day. For the life of me, I cannot remember the details of how I did this, and just have a really vague memory of playing. And then my dad realized I was connecting to a game in the UK over a government connection and I got DENIED.

Years later, when we got our own legit internet, I remembered how I had played this one game ages ago and googled "free fantasy game" and got Avalon as one of the top hits. I had spent the summer prior working the dig site at Cadbury Hill Fort (considered to be the historical basis for Camelot) and was intrigued. I actually wrote pretty extensively about this experience on my blog a few months ago, so, I'll just spoiler that part:

[spoiler]

“Newb moments,” to me, are something longer-lasting than a simple blonde moment or brain fart. They are almost a sort of epiphany, moments where you discover something fundamental and profound – except in this case, that discovery is something you really should have known about.