The Dominion, a not very sanguine experience

edited May 2022 in Harpy's Head Tavern
Hi! I've been debating whether or not to do a post like this, or to message admin directly and privately, and I settled on doing a forum post because this feels like something that would be better treated as a community discussion, given that I don't think the problems going on in the Dominion are widely known by the game at large, especially cross tether.

I've been playing Nhahlar for a couple months now, and have been having a blast roleplaying and (badly) PKing, but my experience within the Dominion guild has not been a fun one. The Dominion has a lot of the issues @Kurak talked about in his post several months ago regarding the Teradrim: unengaged leadership positions held by people who don't really do anything, guild matters being handled in OOC discord servers, and a rather entrenched ingroup/outgroup mentality that seems baked into the organization that discourages people who show initiative and actively excludes people who don't belong to a predestined OOC clique. One of the worst examples of metagaming I've heard about was a Dominion guild member (and leader) screen sharing their game screen on Discord while in voice chat so they could be coached through an in-character interaction.

Other concrete examples include making many known-quantity characters jump through a ton of silly hoops to get a guild rank with any degree of respect behind it (@Asaraii upon coming back to the game was treated pretty much like a newbie, @Bulrok I believe had to go through some of the same thing, and @Azarae failed two GR1 interviews before ragequitting the guild), while someone who appears to be OOC friends with them gets boosted to GR3 within 15 minutes of joining the guild:

2022/05/12 20:36:50 - Callidora inguilded Macavity.
2022/05/12 20:44:10 - Callidora appointed Macavity to the position of Gifted.