100 Themes Writing Challenge

Comments

• MoireanMoirean Chairmander Portland
    edited April 2013
    @emelle: Yeah, I worked as a technical writer for architecture/engineering firms, did editing/localization as part of my work in video games, and now do copywriting remotely. It's a very different type of way to approach writing. Style choices depend on the audience and content is the prime focus. Sometimes I want to just go meehhhh, but it's taught me a lot about how to make things more clear and direct.

-------------------

This is just a general kinda ramble about diction:
    I heard a viewpoint once about word choice: Consider that every word you pick has a monetary value. And, the, is, those are pennies. Fast, short, tall - nickle and dime words. Strident, languour, we're getting up to quarter or 50 cent territory. Terpsichore? Ululations? These are the 5 dollar words. Your work itself is your budget, and the longer it is, the bigger your budget is, but there's a finite budget there - using it all on $5 words will make you go broke pretty darn quickly, and you'd better justify why the money is going to them. I rather liked that perspective and it got me toning down a lot of my overly-splashy word choices. While there is definitely something to said for precision, too many 5 dollar words make them all start to lose their impact.

/ramble. Sorry I just woke up and I was reading China Miéville before bed. His style is so intriguing - really punchy, lots of heavy word choices, but balanced by very quick, very terse sentence structures. So. Woke up with that on my mind. Also, krakens.

-----